State Conference 2019: Conference Program

As of April 8, 2019



8 am Check-In and Poster Set-up (posters must be up before 9 am), Chateau Ballroom
8:30 am Breakfast available in the pre-function space outside of Chateau Ballroom
9 am Conference Opening Session, Chateau Ballroom

  • Mark Sothmann, SC EPSCoR State Committee Chair, Provost Emeritus, MUSC
  • Prakash Nagarkatti, SC EPSCoR State Director, MADE in SC PI, Vice President for Research, UofSC
  • Uma Venkatesawarn, NSF EPSCoR Program Director
  • Nadim Aziz, SC EPSCoR Program Director
10 am Poster and Networking Break, Chateau Ballroom
10:45 am Concurrent Session – MADE in SC: Theory, Modeling and Simulations, Chateau Ballroom
Moderated by Qi Wang, Professor (Mathematics), UofSC, MADE in SC Co-PI, MCC Co-Leader

Concurrent Session – Stimulus Research Program (SRP): Genome to Phenome and Autism, (PI: Jeff Twiss), Meritage
Moderated by Jeff Twiss, Chair (Biological Sciences), SmartState Chair in Childhood Neurotherapeutics, UofSC

Concurrent Session – SRP: Vascular Remodeling and Engineering (PI: Wayne Carver), Technic Room
Moderated by Wayne Carver, Department Chair (Cell Biology and Anatomy), USC SOMC
12:15 pm Networking Lunch, Champagne
Luncheon Program Chair Bob Quinn, SC EPSCoR State Committee Member, Executive Director, SCRA
Special Guest Speaker: Susie Shannon, SC EPSCoR State Committee Member, President & CEO, SC Council on Competitiveness
1:30 pm Concurrent Session – MADE in SC: Experimental, Chateau Ballroom
Moderated by Rajendra Bordia, Professor (Materials Science and Engineering), Clemson, MADE in SC Scientific Director and Co-PI

Concurrent Session – Big Data Analytics, Meritage
Moderated by Mizan Rahman, Glenn Department of Civil Engineering, Clemson, Research Associate, Center for Connected Multimodal Mobility (C2M2)

Concurrent Session – SRP: Food-Energy-Water Nexus (PI: Scott Husson), Technic Room
Moderated by David Ladner, Associate Professor (Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences), Clemson

Concurrent Session – SRP: Energy Storage (PI: Apparao Rao), Champagne
Moderated by Ramakrishna Podila, Assistant Professor (Physics and Astronomy), Clemson
3 pm Poster and Networking Break, Chateau Ballroom
3:45 pm Funding Opportunities, Chateau Ballroom
Moderated by Tanju Karanfil, Vice President for Research, Clemson University

  • Uma Venkateswaran, NSF EPSCoR Program Director
  • April Heyward, SC EPSCoR Program Manager
4:30 pm Conference Conclusion, Chateau Ballroom
Nadim Aziz, SC EPSCoR Program Director